Author Topic: Unitrack Switch Control Panel  (Read 4484 times)

Noah Lane

• Crew
  • Respect: 0
Unitrack Switch Control Panel
« on: March 06, 2013, 04:23:27 AM »
Hi everyone

I introduced myself in the N Scale intros thread, but just a quick disclaimer: I'm a newb, just getting back into model railroading again at age 31 -used to model when I was a kid but never lost my love for trains.

I'm almost two weeks into my first permanent layout (pictured below). It will eventually have 8 turnouts. I'm wiring it for DCC (NCE Powercab) from the start, but I don't plan to control the turnouts with DCC (reasons for opposition to this decision are welcomed). I'd really like to avoid using the stock Kato turnout controls.

My questions regard building a switch control panel. First, I'm confident I can create the map decal in AnyTracks/Illustrator, and build the sheet metal/plexi panel. I even know to use the DPDT Momentary toggles (w/ the X wiring to reverse polarity).  So got all that, but I would still like some sources on how people have gone about their panels. I've searched and found very little. Any ideas?

Also, because the momentary toggles always return to 'off' position, there is nothing to indicate the frog position. I'd like to wire red/green LEDs to indicate direction of the turnouts. I have almost no clue where to start when it comes to wiring the LEDs. Anyone have a diagram or link to a helpful source?

Perhaps the LED indicators route is over my entry level skill, but I like to think I'm pretty handy and a fast learner.

Thanks in advance!

Current state of my layout:

The rough layout (although several track pieces have changed):

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2812
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Unitrack Switch Control Panel
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2013, 05:55:44 AM »
Noah,
as far as control pane design goes, see http://forum.atlasrr.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=69275&SearchTerms=panel