Author Topic: Camera Car Build  (Read 15818 times)

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +4613
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Camera Car Build
« Reply #105 on: March 22, 2013, 06:00:58 PM »
@DKS - another "slaps head and exclaims" moment.  The use of a loco chassis is a great idea.  Not only do you get heft, but you get milled out voids to hold batteries and switches.

@Eric - to quote an infamous California pop culture . . . figure . . . even in low light, your track is the shizzle!

Not taking away from DKS's cleaver install in a heavy loco chassis, I have been doing just this type of installations for many years. My first install (done in 2004) is documented in Kato's gallery.  Funny thing is that we both used the same loco (P42).  I also don't see a need for having the camera steerable. IMO, its field of vision is so wide that it doesn't need to tilt into curves.

http://www.katousa.com/gallery/albums/Peter-Wisniewski/aaa.highlight.jpg
Peter Wisniewski, of Tewksbury MA, installed a miniature camera he purchased from Japan into the hollowed out mechanism of a P42 model. The camera is designed to be used with either DC or DCC power. It also has a small NiCad (rechargeable) battery. It is small enough that it (and the battery) can be totally hidden inside the body of the model. Peter simply puts this unit ahead of another motorized P42 and pushes it out in front of his train for some great shots!!

Rest of the writeup and photos: http://www.katousa.com/gallery/Peter-Wisniewski

I have also posted some videos taken with one of my TC-9 cameras in page 4 of this thread (they have better lighting than Eric's).
https://www.therailwire.net/forum/index.php?topic=28477.msg300778#msg300778