Author Topic: Any recommendations for someone who does N scale brass steam repairs?  (Read 1608 times)

benderda

• Respect: 0
Hi Guys!

I am the original owner of an N scale Key Imports Santa Fe 4-8-4 that was built by Yulim in 1991.  It has always been a poor runner as long as I can remember.  I have been tweaking this thing for over 20 years with negligible results.  It currently has a Digitrax DZ143 decoder that I installed.  I can tell from the pilot light on the DCC booster that the loco is randomly shorting and tripping the overload protection.  I suspect that the short is either in the lead truck or the trailing truck, but have not be able to pinpoint which one.  They may both be shorting for all I know.  (There is also enough slop in one of the driver pairs that they also may be the source of a short.)

The loco will also just stop momentarily then proceed.  When this happens the pilot light is not indicating a short so I have been looking for mechanical binding somewhere, usually in the valve gear.  Tonight for the first time, the loco completely locked itself by jamming the valve gear eccentric against the main side rod.  That has not happened before that I can recall.  The thing also "waddles" down the track.  I can't tell if the first two sets of drivers are not at 90 degrees to the axles, or if there is just too much slop in the main axle bearing blocks, but the first two sets of drivers do not appear to be in gauge and do not run at a 90 degree angle to the frame.

Anyway, all this is to ask if any of you know anyone would be interested in, as well as in possession of the knowledge and skills, to do the needed troubleshooting and repairs to make this locomotive a consistent, reliable runner.   I have checked with several online and advertised services and nobody seems to want to tackle this one.

Thanks for any suggestions.

mmagliaro

• Crew
  • Respect: +1779
    • Maxcow Online