Author Topic: Ammeter for a Digitrax DCC system  (Read 1129 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Flagler

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 391
  • Respect: -43
Ammeter for a Digitrax DCC system
« on: January 24, 2013, 08:35:46 AM »
0
I heard that you need a special ammeter to measure the amps being used on a DCC system.Can I use any DC ammmeter?

eric220

  • The Pitt
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3451
  • Gender: Male
  • Continuing my abomination unto history
  • Respect: +413
    • The Modern PRR
Re: Ammeter for a Digitrax DCC system
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2013, 09:05:15 AM »
0
I heard that you need a special ammeter to measure the amps being used on a DCC system.Can I use any DC ammmeter?

At minimum it would have to be an AC ammeter.
-Eric

Modeling a transcontinental PRR
http://www.pennsylvania-railroad.com

C855B

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 7949
  • Respect: +1008
Re: Ammeter for a Digitrax DCC system
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2013, 10:41:53 AM »
0
You'll need a digital AC ammeter, with RMS turned off.
...mike

http://www.gibboncozadandwestern.com

We don't make mistakes, we have happy accidents. We just don't tell anybody. -Bob Ross

Flagler

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 391
  • Respect: -43
Re: Ammeter for a Digitrax DCC system
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2013, 01:22:17 PM »
0
You'll need a digital AC ammeter, with RMS turned off.
Ok, who makes these.I need 3 or 4 of them.I am looking for something not as pricey as the RRAMPMETER by Tony's

Hornwrecker

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 401
  • Respect: +25
Re: Ammeter for a Digitrax DCC system
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2013, 02:43:41 PM »
0
A search turned up these, you can assemble yourself or buy them finished.  Lots of interesting boards for other applications there, too. 

http://home.cogeco.ca/~rpaisley4/DCCammeter10.html#PCB
Bob

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21136
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +1933
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Ammeter for a Digitrax DCC system
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2013, 05:56:54 PM »
0
As a good alternative, on my friend's layout, we installed some conventional and inexpensive DC ammeters on the DC power supply side of the DCC boosters. They work perfectly well (as the current consumed by the booster circuitry is negligible)!

--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm puzzled!!!!