Author Topic: Industry Ideas  (Read 3114 times)

h2w

• Crew
  • Respect: 0
Industry Ideas
« on: December 29, 2012, 02:01:13 PM »
hello newbie here,  i'm looking for industry ideas for my ho scale shelf layout, i'm looking for a small to medium sized industry that uses 2 bay covered hoppers and boxcars from the 1960s to the present especialy helpful would be names of protype industries pics etc
thanks
mark in sunbury pa

Philip H

• Crew
  • Respect: +1530
    • Layout Progress Blog
Re: Industry Ideas
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2012, 05:25:20 PM »
First thing that comes to mind is a plastics plant. Passed one in Indiana (around Elkhart) yesterday right along I-80 that has rail service. Think it's called 20/20 advance plastics. A brewery is another option - grain in in the hoppers; beer out in the boxcars.
Philip H.
Chief Everything Officer
Baton Rouge Southern RR - Mount Rainier Division.

"Yes there are somethings that are "off;" but hey, so what." ~ Wyatt

"I'm trying to have less cranial rectal inversion with this." - Ed K.

"There's more to MRR life than the Wheezy & Nowheresville." C855B

Ian MacMillan

• Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • Learn to use the god damn search feature!
  • Respect: +157
    • Conrail's Amoskeag Northern Division
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2012, 07:21:25 PM »
You could also do powdered cement in 2 bay hoppers. Or fly ash. Fly ash in in hoppers, out packed for sale in boxcars.
I WANNA SEE THE BOAT MOVIE!

Yes... I'm in N... Also HO and 1:1

cv_acr

• Crew
  • Respect: +127
    • Canadian Freight Railcar Gallery
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2012, 12:21:47 AM »
Plastic pellets are light and shipped in fairly large cars, not 2-bay hoppers.