Author Topic: Atlas Code 55 Flex  (Read 2934 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

conrail98

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1442
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +34
Atlas Code 55 Flex
« on: August 28, 2012, 10:40:29 AM »
0
Just for my sanity, I want to make sure I've got this correct. I've seen lots of items being offered stating they are Atlas code 55. When I ask the seller about the color of ties, they tell me black. Now, I've always been told that the Atlas Code 55 Flex track has had brown colored ties while their Code 80 are black. I'm just making sure my knowledge is correct. If it's not, someone please let me know. Thanks,

Phil
- Phil

Shipsure

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1502
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +658
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2012, 10:44:56 AM »
0
From what I've seen the Atlas code 55 is always brown.  Now Peco and Micro Engineering is black in the same code...could they be confusing the brands?

Joe
MTl

Kisatchie

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 4179
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +101
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2012, 10:49:33 AM »
0
I have a few sections of Atlas track on which the rails are 2 mm high. I don't have the proper ruler to convert to code sizes. I was under the impression they were code 55, but the ties are black.


Hmm... and Kiz used to
be so good at math...


Two scientists create a teleportation ray, and they try it out on a cricket. They put the cricket on one of the two teleportation pads in the room, and they turn the ray on.
The cricket jumps across the room onto the other pad.
"It works! It works!"

Ed Kapuscinski

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 18320
  • Has a degree in American History & Culture.
  • Respect: +2432
    • Conrail 1285
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2012, 10:52:08 AM »
+3
I'm pretty sure it's always been brown, and that the world is full of morons.

Ed Kapuscinski

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 18320
  • Has a degree in American History & Culture.
  • Respect: +2432
    • Conrail 1285
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2012, 10:53:19 AM »
0
Kiz, 2mm is 0.0787401575 inches, or, roughly Code 80.

Kiasutha

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 106
  • Respect: 0
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2012, 10:53:53 AM »
0
I have all three brands of "55", and they all look dark brown to us...
So does Peco "80".
Our Atlas code 80 is definitely black though.

DKS

  • The Pitt
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 11571
  • Respect: +2067
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2012, 10:56:10 AM »
0
Just checked samples on hand. Code 55: dark brown. Code 80: black.

Kisatchie

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 4179
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +101
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2012, 10:58:40 AM »
0
Kiz, 2mm is 0.0787401575 inches, or, roughly Code 80.

Thanks. I found this on Atlas's web site just now:

Atlas N Scale Track Summary
N Code 80 (Black Ties/Nickel Silver Rail) - Basic Line
N Code 55 (Brown Ties/Nickel Silver Rail) - Modeler's Track


Aww... I thought my track was code 55.


Hmm... I'm orange. What
code am I...?


Two scientists create a teleportation ray, and they try it out on a cricket. They put the cricket on one of the two teleportation pads in the room, and they turn the ray on.
The cricket jumps across the room onto the other pad.
"It works! It works!"

conrail98

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1442
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +34
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2012, 11:07:06 AM »
0
Thanks guys. It was a gentleman selling on N Scale Yard Sale and now he's thinking he's got all code 80 since the joiners fit both his black Atlas and Peco track,

Phil
- Phil

Cory Rothlisberger

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Respect: +52
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2012, 11:16:49 AM »
0
C55 = Brown
C80 = Black.

Always has and for all I know always will be.

conrail98

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1442
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +34
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2012, 11:27:00 AM »
0
C55 = Brown
C80 = Black.

Always has and for all I know always will be.

Thanks Cory, was hoping you or Paul would chime in for triple confirmation,  :D
- Phil

robert3985

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2249
  • Respect: +546
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2012, 05:49:19 PM »
0
From what I've seen the Atlas code 55 is always brown.  Now Peco and Micro Engineering is black in the same code...could they be confusing the brands?

Joe
MTl

ME track has dark brown ties.  Nowhere near "black".

Cheers!
Bob Gilmore

nickelplate759

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1505
  • Respect: +171
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2018, 11:15:55 PM »
0
Might as well put this here rather than start a new topic:

I need to lay an S curve (with about a 7" straight in the middle).  Atlas Code 55 flex is asymmetrical - there is an "inside" and "outside" rail for a curve (the outside rail has more gaps between the ties). Can/should I use a single piece of flex track (it's long enough), or do I need to use two pieces?   If it makes a difference, minimum radius here is 16".
George
(that's my real name)

NKPH&TS #3628

I'm sorry Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that.

nkalanaga

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 6790
  • Respect: +305
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2018, 01:48:08 AM »
0
I doubt that it would make much difference on a 16 inch radius curve.  If you wanted to be certain, though, how hard is it to remove and replace the tie strip?  (I've never used Atlas C55 track)

If it isn't hard, you could cut the strip in the middle of the straight piece, and reverse one end as needed.
N Kalanaga
Be well

Rossford Yard

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 898
  • Respect: +48
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex
« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2018, 09:04:54 AM »
0
Might as well put this here rather than start a new topic:

I need to lay an S curve (with about a 7" straight in the middle).  Atlas Code 55 flex is asymmetrical - there is an "inside" and "outside" rail for a curve (the outside rail has more gaps between the ties). Can/should I use a single piece of flex track (it's long enough), or do I need to use two pieces?   If it makes a difference, minimum radius here is 16".

Solder the joints of two pieces of flex and lay it as one, 5 foot long piece.