Author Topic: Marmion Valley - HOn30 2 x 4 Layout  (Read 22526 times)

timgill

• Crew
  • Respect: 0
Re: Marmion Valley - HOn30 2 x 4 Layout
« Reply #75 on: September 11, 2014, 06:57:59 PM »
Nice! Is that code 40?  (I can't tell, it's hard for me to judge size in HO scale pics)

Ed

Actually, it's code 55; I had a bunch left over from another N scale project.

I've done a lot of handlaid turnouts on templates before, but this is my first time handlaying ALL the track. It's proving to be...educational...to say the least.
-Tim Gill
Subscribe to/Visit my Model Railraoding blog: www.marmionvalley.blogspot.com

timgill

• Crew
« Reply #76 on: September 23, 2014, 11:16:56 PM »
A busy few days around the workshop. I have finally finished contouring the landscape, and applied the first initial coat of Sculptamold to the layout.

HOn30 update 9/23/14 by timgill1983, on Flickr

This is definitely an area where I have a bit of a learning curve. Visualizing and then executing the land contours in 3D proved to be a bit of a frustrating and painstaking excercise. However, I was more pleased when I started to blend the landforms together with Sculptamold.

The landforms will get a heavy sanding with 50 grit sandpaper, and then a "patch coat" of Sculptamold to clean up any big gaps or bubbles in the texture.

I am discovering more and more that working in HOn30 is giving me an opportunity to really stretch my modeling skills and explore projects that push my comfort zone. This Funaro & Carmelengo resin caboose kit is no different; this is my first resin kit, and, much as the Toma kit did, it is proving to be a bit of a learning curve. I have seen resin kits like this described as a "scratchbuild in a box," and I certainly can relate. I am about halfway through this kit, and am plugging along steadily.