Author Topic: Computer program to print a control panel plan?  (Read 1701 times)

videobruce

Computer program to print a control panel plan?
« on: March 14, 2012, 10:37:58 AM »
My 1st layout I used 'Charting or Graphic Tape' to lay out the track plan for a control panel. Small layout, many parallel tracks, but it worked out ok.

That was 15 years ago and I guess no one does that anymore in favor of a computer program to do so.

Problem is, I'm not a graphic artist, I don't use Photoshop though I can navigate through Windows Registry with little issue. I never used any of those track planning programs as I did my hand drawn plan as to scale as possible, then full scale with turnout templates so I know it's at least 95% feasible.

I see all these PC generated control panels and they do look great, but anything graphic is out of my league. Ideas??

Ed Kapuscinski

• Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • Head Kino
  • Respect: +8035
    • Conrail 1285
Re: Computer program to print a control panel plan?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2012, 11:08:33 AM »
With some creativity, you could probably get Google drawing to do something decent.

Go to https://docs.google.com/ and create a new drawing.

I'd be curious to see what you can get it to do.

TrainCat2

• Crew
  • I'm here to take a beating from RailWire members.
  • Respect: +802
    • TrainCat Model Sales
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2012, 01:14:50 PM »
Several of us here are proficient using Adobe Illustrator. Can you post a drawing (by hand is OK) with dims for us to look at?

Regards
boB Knight

I Spell boB Backwards

videobruce

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2012, 09:12:38 AM »
Attached is V3 of the layout minus the five tentative industrial spurs, three spurs for the passenger station and the engine house. It's 95% to scale and in proportion to one another. All turnouts positions were confirmed by templates full scale. The 'bowl' of the hump will probably have to be 'tweaked'.