Author Topic: Allegheny Eastern: Design Evolution  (Read 10135 times)

kelticsylk

• Crew
  • Respect: 0
    • Milepost 15
Allegheny Eastern: Design Evolution
« on: February 22, 2012, 05:23:35 PM »
Since I'm new here I thought I should introduce the layout I've been working on for several years. The Allegheny Eastern is the first "real" layout I've constructed since I was nine years old. Most of the attempts since were Christmas layouts or dioramas. I did start a couple of small operating layouts featuring short mining branches, but lost interest. I wasn't that they didn't operate well or provide some entertainment. It was more that they weren't railroads the way I remembered them. Growing up along the four track mainline of the Pennsylvania leaves quite an impression. It's not that I'm snobbish or anything. It's just that after you've spent some time watching GG1's and E44's highballing along the what they now call the "Northeast Corridor" anything less just doesn't seem the same. Electric railroading so dominated the Philadelphia area that I really didn't get close to any other kind of road engine until I was an adult with children. The only other locomotives I saw to that point were working for the Strasburg. There was an occasional glimpse of Reading hood units from the EL train, but Heavy electrics were a way of life.