Author Topic: Digitrax DB150 Problem  (Read 809 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

davefoxx

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 8656
  • Gender: Male
  • "I like trains!"
  • Respect: +2024
Digitrax DB150 Problem
« on: February 19, 2012, 11:24:02 AM »
0
I plugged in my Digitrax Super Empire Builder DCC system this morning to test some decoders that I'm installing in a couple of IM FP7s.  I noticed at Christmastime, when I had the system set up on a loop under the Christmas tree, that I was occasionally getting some intermittent beeps from the command station.  This morning, it's worse.

The system initially operated okay, and I successfully installed one decoder, including the headlight transplant from the factory board to the DCC decoder.  However, more than once I got nine beeps from the command station, and when I tried to reprogram the locomotive's address, the DB150 would essentially shut down.  The DT400 display would go blank and then flash weird displays, sometimes showing it was only receiving six to seven volts of power.  Successive attempts to program the locomotive shut down the system.

I looked in the Digitrax manual.  Nine beeps means "DB150 transmit failure, there is a device blocking proper message action on LocoNet."  What does that mean?  Note that I only had the DT400 plugged directly into the command station rather than some LocoNet network, and the system was only hooked up to a few pieces (not even a loop) of Kato Unitrack to test the locomotives.

My DCC system was purchased in 2003 or 2004 and has operated flawlessly up to now.  Is it dying?!  Can this be fixed?  HELP!

DFF

General Counsel to the Laurel Valley Ry.
Member: ACL/SAL Historical Society
A Proud HOer

John

  • Administrator
  • Crew
  • *****
  • Posts: 10896
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +545
Re: Digitrax DB150 Problem
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2012, 03:06:59 PM »
0

davefoxx

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 8656
  • Gender: Male
  • "I like trains!"
  • Respect: +2024
Re: Digitrax DB150 Problem
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2012, 07:47:04 PM »
0
Thanks for the link, John.  I haven't had time to play with the system since I took it apart last week to put it back in storage in the basement.  I'll try to see if any of the suggestions on that Yahoo! Digitrax Group help.

Thanks again,
Dave

General Counsel to the Laurel Valley Ry.
Member: ACL/SAL Historical Society
A Proud HOer

Ian MacMillan

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 11932
  • Gender: Male
  • Learn to use the god damn search feature!
  • Respect: +64
    • Conrail's Portland Line
Re: Digitrax DB150 Problem
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2012, 08:01:15 PM »
0
I was having a similar issue with mine. Beeping and etc. I found that it was a throttle issue.

You can see it here:
https://www.therailwire.net/forum/index.php?topic=22414.0

My DT300 needs to be fixed, but with todays prices its most likely easiest to just buy a new one as I want to go Duplex anyway. Right now I'm reserved to using my 3 old Android phones as throttles via WiThrottle and JMRI.
I WANNA SEE THE BOAT MOVIE!

John

  • Administrator
  • Crew
  • *****
  • Posts: 10896
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +545
Re: Digitrax DB150 Problem
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2012, 08:07:16 PM »
0

My DT300 needs to be fixed, but with todays prices its most likely easiest to just buy a new one as I want to go Duplex anyway. Right now I'm reserved to using my 3 old Android phones as throttles via WiThrottle and JMRI.

I just got mine back from digirax .. $25 .. they replaced an encoder, and 2 capacitors .. works like a champ

Ian MacMillan

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 11932
  • Gender: Male
  • Learn to use the god damn search feature!
  • Respect: +64
    • Conrail's Portland Line
Re: Digitrax DB150 Problem
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2012, 03:31:39 AM »
0
I just got mine back from digirax .. $25 .. they replaced an encoder, and 2 capacitors .. works like a champ
Roger that
I WANNA SEE THE BOAT MOVIE!

Ian MacMillan

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 11932
  • Gender: Male
  • Learn to use the god damn search feature!
  • Respect: +64
    • Conrail's Portland Line
Re: Digitrax DB150 Problem
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2012, 09:47:31 AM »
0
Turns out mine is the capacitors as well. Found some stuff on the Digitrax Yahoo forum explaining the same messages I was getting on my screen. Going to send it out to Digitrax tomorrow.

Seems like this is the issue:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague

I wish they would bring back the DT300 series in Duplex.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2012, 10:05:48 AM by Ian MacMillan »
I WANNA SEE THE BOAT MOVIE!