Author Topic: I need help ....  (Read 2130 times)

eja

• Crew
  • Respect: +198
I need help ....
« on: December 20, 2011, 01:50:54 PM »

I've been detailing this Kato SD-40 for a couple of years now. Finally got the courage to drill out the fans so I can add BLMA fans to it. Then I screw it up when I am filing the tops of the fan housings as Craig says to do.

Any suggestions on how I can build the right housing back to the same level as the others?

Anyone have an extra shell they want to sell ( although I really don't want to start over)?

Scottl

• Crew
  • Respect: +1139
Re: I need help ....
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2011, 03:06:47 PM »
It looks minor to me.  How about filing all of the fans down to that level?  It won't stand out (to this set of eyes).

pwnj

• Crew
  • The Resourceful Route!
  • Respect: +1
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2011, 03:14:49 PM »
Yeah, either that, or file the second one down a little so it's a gradual drop.  Much less noticeable.  Then enforce a strict "No Macro Photography" zone on your layout. ;)

3DTrains

• Crew
  • Respect: +7
    • 3DTrains
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2011, 03:27:51 PM »
Or set aside a few bucks to purchase a new shell on the 'bay.  ;)

Cheers!
Marc

Ed Kapuscinski

• Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • Head Kino
  • Respect: +7962
    • Conrail 1285
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2011, 04:05:33 PM »
I like the idea of evening them out.

Or not even worrying about it. Fan rings were interchangeable components, and they got swapped from unit to unit.

wcfn100

• Crew
  • Respect: +1128
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2011, 04:23:34 PM »