Author Topic: Interesting scratch built building  (Read 1715 times)

John

• Administrator
  • Crew
  • Respect: +545
Interesting scratch built building
« on: August 28, 2010, 08:03:07 PM »

up1950s

• Crew
  • Respect: +780
Re: Interesting scratch built building
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2010, 08:40:30 PM »
Sign frames would have disguised the scissor clipped signs  . I have no knowledge of the 50's decade sex shops , or if there was such a thing back then . Anybody know ?

sirenwerks

• Crew
  • Respect: +157
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2010, 08:41:44 PM »
Um, the Block.
Now seeking Pacific NW N scalers to create a Modutrak-style modular club featuring NP's shared mainline between Seattle and Portland. PM me if interested.

Brakie

• Crew
  • Respect: 0
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2010, 10:58:48 PM »
Sign frames would have disguised the scissor clipped signs  . I have no knowledge of the 50's decade sex shops , or if there was such a thing back then . Anybody know ?

Those was usually in unremarkable plain stores without the fanfare like you see with today's Adult Store..There would be a small sign on the door that read "Adult Store"..Must be 21 to enter.

The 50s was still in the high moral standards era-remember how they wouldn't show Elvis's hips on TV and rock and roll was considered immoral and unfit to listen to?
Larry

Summerset Ry.

up1950s

• Crew
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2010, 11:20:36 PM »

Those was usually in unremarkable plain stores without the fanfare like you see with today's Adult Store..There would be a small sign on the door that read "Adult Store"..Must be 21 to enter.

The 50s was still in the high moral standards era-remember how they wouldn't show Elvis's hips on TV and rock and roll was considered immoral and unfit to listen to?

Yes I do , I think it was Ed Sullivan who censored his hip shots . Thanks , hatched in '46 I was old enough but I guess thats why I don't remember seeing any , the were the store equivalent of a plain paper bag .