Author Topic: LocoBuffer USB or PR3  (Read 894 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Ian MacMillan

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 11887
  • Gender: Male
  • Learn to use the god damn search feature!
  • Respect: +37
    • Conrail's Portland Line
LocoBuffer USB or PR3
« on: January 07, 2010, 08:21:26 PM »
0
Its that time that I need to get a PC connection for LocoNet. I have been looking at the PR3 and LocoBuffer. For only $3 between the two of them I'm kinda in the air as to which one would be the better buy.

Ideas from the mass who have or have used either?
I WANNA SEE THE BOAT MOVIE!

John

  • Administrator
  • Crew
  • *****
  • Posts: 10689
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +432
Re: LocoBuffer USB or PR3
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2010, 08:23:02 PM »
0
 I like my locobuffer ..

I have one I built .. from the original kits .. you can have it if you want try it out .. it uses the DB9 to DB25 converter ..

Ian MacMillan

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 11887
  • Gender: Male
  • Learn to use the god damn search feature!
  • Respect: +37
    • Conrail's Portland Line
Re: LocoBuffer USB or PR3
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2010, 08:49:07 PM »
0
John that would be greatly appreciated!
I WANNA SEE THE BOAT MOVIE!

John

  • Administrator
  • Crew
  • *****
  • Posts: 10689
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +432
Re: LocoBuffer USB or PR3
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2010, 08:50:01 PM »
0
John that would be greatly appreciated!

No prob .. PM me the mailing addy

kiwi_al

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 876
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: 0
Re: LocoBuffer USB or PR3
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2010, 12:58:24 AM »
0
I have a locobuffer usb and I like it a lot. I used to have a Digitrax MS100 but that only works with Windoze. LocobufferUsb works with Linux  ;D ;D (I use Linux not Microsoft's Windows). I sold the MS100 on TradeMe.
[

Day One

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 173
  • Respect: +2
Re: LocoBuffer USB or PR3
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2010, 01:07:11 AM »
0
LocoBuffer USB
Used in conjunction with the JMRI software suite (especially decoder pro) it's a very powerfull and versatile combination.
Complete layout monitoring and control, plus decoder programming abilities and a whole lot more.

Ian MacMillan

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 11887
  • Gender: Male
  • Learn to use the god damn search feature!
  • Respect: +37
    • Conrail's Portland Line
Re: LocoBuffer USB or PR3
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2010, 02:38:17 PM »
0
Looking forward to getting this running.

JMRI and Railroad & Co Bronze is installed on the layout computer. Just waiting for the LB which should be here today and the BD168's which should be here in a few days so I can try this out. I've used them all on other layouts, but it will be nice to see what it can do on mine.
I WANNA SEE THE BOAT MOVIE!