Author Topic: Newbie Needs layout advice  (Read 7401 times)

choochoocharlie

Newbie Needs layout advice
« on: April 16, 2009, 12:16:22 PM »
Hi, I'm new to this world, and have joined a few forums to learn from those who know this best, and to post some pleas for advice about making the layout base.  I have no carpentry skills at all...I couldn't build a doghouse if my dog's or my life depended on it. ;D My skills are more in tune to the terrain and building structures. So...while doing some initial research, I have found something called mod-u-rail made by a company called Woodland Scenics.  Do any of you reading this have any experience with or knowledge about this product? Thanks for your time.

Charlie

ednadolski

• Crew
  • Respect: +1665
Re: Newbie Needs layout advice
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2009, 03:23:30 PM »
Never used mod-u-rail myself, but IMHO one of the easiest things for N scale is simply one of those flat hollow-core interior doors.  You can usually get them up to 80" x 36".  Doesn't get much easier than that :)

Ed Kapuscinski

• Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • Head Kino
  • Respect: +7846
    • Conrail 1285
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2009, 09:57:05 PM »
Someone say hollow core door? I'm all over it.

I'm a fan (cause I'm lazy).

I'd skip the WS stuff, it seems really overpriced.

wcfn100

• Crew
  • Respect: +1109
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2009, 10:12:07 PM »
Someone say hollow core door? I'm all over it.

I'm a fan (cause I'm lazy).

I'd skip the WS stuff, it seems really overpriced.

Don't forget that you can also get the hollow core as a bi-fold if you want a 15 or 18" shelf too.

Jason

wm3798

• Crew
  • I like models. She likes antiques. Perfect!
  • Respect: +5348
    • Western Maryland Railway Western Lines
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2009, 12:25:34 AM »