Author Topic: TCS M2 in Tomix TMXX mechanism  (Read 1638 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Iain

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 4405
  • Gender: Female
  • Na sgrìobhaidh a Iain
  • Respect: +206
    • The Best Puppers
TCS M2 in Tomix TMXX mechanism
« on: January 04, 2008, 09:27:14 PM »
0
I tried installing a TCS M2 decoder in a Whitcomb.  However, instead of the locomotive moving, the decoder got very hot.  I am sure the decoder was correctly installed.  As I thought I just had a bad decoder, I grabbed another one and tried that with the same result.  Any help?
Thanks much,
Mairi Dulaney, RHCE
Member, Free Software Foundation and Norfolk Southern Historical Society

http://jdulaney.com

SquirrelHollow

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 540
  • Gender: Male
  • Grease Monkey
  • Respect: 0
Re: TCS M2 in Tomix TMXX mechanism
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2008, 10:18:54 PM »
0
Does the Tomix chassis use a coreless motor?  I seem to remember reading that coreless motors don't handle DCC power very nicelly.
-Robert

Uintah Railway, Utah Railway.

Iain

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 4405
  • Gender: Female
  • Na sgrìobhaidh a Iain
  • Respect: +206
    • The Best Puppers
Re: TCS M2 in Tomix TMXX mechanism
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2008, 11:02:00 PM »
0
No idea, can't read Japanese.
Thanks much,
Mairi Dulaney, RHCE
Member, Free Software Foundation and Norfolk Southern Historical Society

http://jdulaney.com

kiwi_al

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 876
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: 0
Re: TCS M2 in Tomix TMXX mechanism
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2008, 03:51:35 AM »
0
Why don't you measure the current draw so you   can work out if you are drawing more current than the decoder can handle ?
[

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 13562
  • Respect: +2806
Re: TCS M2 in Tomix TMXX mechanism
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2008, 03:57:11 AM »
0
Some on over on Trainboard did this, you might try a search over there. I don't do DCC.

bsoplinger

  • Guest
Re: TCS M2 in Tomix TMXX mechanism
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2008, 12:18:05 PM »
0
I used an old DZ-123 for my decoder on the cheater chassis, but its the same Tomix TMxx motor/mechanism. No trouble at all, runs smoothly, etc as one would expect from a DCC install, ie normally. And the Digitrax DZ123 is their el cheapo, can't power much decoder. I'm sure the TCS M2 would handle more power so it can't be a current draw issue in terms of the motor itself. I didn't use any resistors or anything on the motor, just set Vmin and Vmax to appropriate values to bring the speed into reasonable limits.

Perhaps you have a short somewhere? Perhaps between some weight and one of the pickups? I have 2 of the Whitcomb kits at hand and one of them partially built. There's much more chance of a short than in the design of the cheater chassis which lets you just pile tons of weight on top of the casting since its still hidden inside the boxcar shell.

Iain

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 4405
  • Gender: Female
  • Na sgrìobhaidh a Iain
  • Respect: +206
    • The Best Puppers
Re: TCS M2 in Tomix TMXX mechanism
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2008, 03:10:36 PM »
0
No short at all.

The M2 is rated at 1 amp continuously, 2 amps peak.  The motor draws a tenth of an amp.  This was the first thing I checked.
Thanks much,
Mairi Dulaney, RHCE
Member, Free Software Foundation and Norfolk Southern Historical Society

http://jdulaney.com

kiwi_al

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 876
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: 0
Re: TCS M2 in Tomix TMXX mechanism
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2008, 05:11:47 AM »
0
Have you used a DVM on the continuity setting to check for shorts and  that the decoder is isolated from the motor etc.

I know you have stated there's no short but you haven't said how you arrived at that decision. Decoders don't heat up like that for no reason.


[