Author Topic: Bachmann 2-8-0 front coupler  (Read 1313 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Bachmann 2-8-0 front coupler
« on: December 10, 2007, 01:37:06 PM »
0
i'm looking to purchase several Bachmann 2-8-0 locomotives in the near future.  can a working coupler be installed in the front?  i really want to use these in a prototypical manner and not having a working front coupler would not work for my plans.

-steve
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?

Mark5

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 9112
  • Always with the negative waves Moriarty ...
  • Respect: +182
Re: Bachmann 2-8-0 front coupler
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2007, 01:38:50 PM »
0
So you've gotten past the oversize nature of this beast?  ;)

(I bought one in WM anyway!)

I believe the common approach is to use the Z 905.

Search the Atlas forum its been covered numerous times there.

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Re: Bachmann 2-8-0 front coupler
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2007, 01:46:13 PM »
0
i haven't gotten over anything...  i buy what's available ;)

and no, the PRR didn't have these in 1967, but the H&BTM did in 1937

-steve
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?

absnut

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 207
  • Respect: 0
Re: Bachmann 2-8-0 front coupler
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2007, 11:29:00 PM »
0
According to N Scale Supply, a front coupler can be installed using a #2004 coupler box and a #1015 coupler.

http://www.nscalesupply.com/BAC/BAC-2-8-0.html

Dick

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 13377
  • Respect: +2716
Re: Bachmann 2-8-0 front coupler
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2007, 05:13:05 AM »
0
I put a 903/905 on mine:

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Re: Bachmann 2-8-0 front coupler
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2007, 09:06:49 AM »
0
this is good news!  i just need to buy 2 of these and about 2 dozen hoppers and a caboose.
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?