Author Topic: RS-11 Question  (Read 1960 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Bob Bufkin

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 6396
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +42
RS-11 Question
« on: November 20, 2007, 05:37:23 PM »
0
Been looking for a DCC equipped PRR RS-11.  Everyone seems to be sold out.  Does the DCC board that fits the GP-7/9' also fit the newer RS-11?
Bob

wm3798

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 13108
  • Gender: Male
  • I like models. She likes antiques. Perfect!
  • Respect: +1336
    • Western Maryland Railway Western Lines
Re: RS-11 Question
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2007, 06:56:37 PM »
0
I'm not 100% sure, but it seems likely.  Atlas took a cue from EMD... standardize the parts as much as possible... even in an Alco!

Lee
Route of the Alpha Jets

Lee Weldon www.wmrywesternlines.net

POVC

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 501
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +4
Re: RS-11 Question
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2007, 09:54:53 PM »
0
Bob,

Walther's still has one road number of the non-decoder unit in stock.  If you don't mind installing a decoder yourself, that might be the only option.

Decoder is either the DN-163A0 or DN-163A2, I'm not sure since I don't have any RS-11's.

Tim

railspike55

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 126
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: 0
Re: RS-11 Question
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2007, 01:29:00 AM »
0
Bob,

BLW has some in stock but not the DCC

http://www.blwnscale.com/Atlas%20RS11.htm

Ron N.
Steam and Diesel in Transition

Ron N.

Wardie

  • Guest
Re: RS-11 Question
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2007, 06:35:19 PM »
0
The new run that just shipped, or the one from a year ago?

Bob Bufkin

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 6396
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +42
Re: RS-11 Question
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2007, 07:29:52 PM »
0
Beleave it's the new stock.  Did order one from BLW but got a reply back that he just sold the last one.  Figured I'd ordered a non DCC and put a decoder in it.  Believe the GP-7/9  decoder will work but am not sure.  That's why I asked.

Thanks.

Bob.

Chulvis

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3436
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +5
    • http://www.featherrivertrains.com
Re: RS-11 Question
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2007, 08:06:48 PM »
0
Hi Bob,

The PRR RS-11 was from the last run. I sent you a PM with some additional information.



railspike55

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 126
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: 0
Re: RS-11 Question
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2007, 03:32:26 AM »
0
Bob,

N Scale Supply has dcc
http://www.nscalesupply.com/ATL/ATL-LocomotiveALCORS-11.html

sorry about BLW

Ron N.
Steam and Diesel in Transition

Ron N.

Bob Bufkin

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 6396
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +42
Re: RS-11 Question
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2007, 07:21:16 AM »
0
Thanks Ron.  I somehow lost my bookmark to them, so I didn't think or checking there. 

Bob

Mark5

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 9112
  • Always with the negative waves Moriarty ...
  • Respect: +182
Re: RS-11 Question
« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2007, 07:44:54 AM »
0
Bob,

N Scale Supply has dcc
http://www.nscalesupply.com/ATL/ATL-LocomotiveALCORS-11.html

sorry about BLW

Ron N.


While I like N Scale Supply, their webpage is not to be trusted as to "in stock" items.

Trust but verify. ;)

trainforfun

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1679
  • Respect: +45
Re: RS-11 Question
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2007, 12:28:33 PM »
0
Bob,

Walther's still has one road number of the non-decoder unit in stock.  If you don't mind installing a decoder yourself, that might be the only option.

Decoder is either the DN-163A0 or DN-163A2, I'm not sure since I don't have any RS-11's.

Tim

I did a conversion on a CV unit using DN163A0 , perfect fit ! 
Thanks ,
Louis



Bob Bufkin

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 6396
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +42
Re: RS-11 Question
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2007, 01:38:43 PM »
0
Thanks for all the replies.  Found and ordered one.  Also thanks for info on what decoder to use.  I've got 2 extra locos and decoders which will work.  This group is great in providing needed info.
Bob