Author Topic: layout woes  (Read 6188 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
layout woes
« on: August 28, 2007, 03:10:36 PM »
0
since switching to N scale back in January 2006, i have yet to build a layout.  i have built an N-Trak module and drawn up plans for several layouts, but have yet to do anything with them.  we are planning on moving at some point, and that has really kept me from doing anything - our plan is to move in the Spring/Summer of 2008. 

i have scraped all my layout plans since they were not something that would be easily moved.   i'm contemplating building a 3'x7' layout for the 5'x8' corner of the family room.  i was looking at the Mohawk Valley plan that Lou Sassi had published in the mid 90's.  Dave Vollmer has built up a layout using a slight modification of that plan when he was looking for something to replace his first layout. 

here is the modified trackplan:


here is the switching layout i have been tinkering with - the diamond would have to be custom built, so i might not include it.:


i already have the basics of the switching layout benchwork - my 1'x8' HO switching layout would be the foundation for the new layout.  i really want to get started with something, and the easiest thing to build up would be the switching layout, but having a continuous run would add interest for both myself and my son.

i just want to build SOMETHING at this point - who knows when we'll end up moving since the housing market isn't as hot as a year ago.

-steve
« Last Edit: August 28, 2007, 03:13:50 PM by asciibaron »
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?

3rdrail

  • Guest
Re: layout woes
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2007, 04:02:55 PM »
0
Steve, why do you think I built this:



Which fits in this:



Which, when closed, looks like this:



It was built in New Orleans, where it was known as "The G-dd--n railroad in the bedroom", moved to Atlanta, where it resided in two living rooms. On to Fort Wayne, IN, Woodbridge, Va, and three houses in Port Saint Joe, where it currently resides in the front guest bedroom.

So, go for it. For better than 30 years it was the only railroad I had, and if you look you'll see it can be used as a switching layout as well as a "roundy-round". Kids love it at train shows because the train disappears into a tunnel and they can't tell where it will exit.

Ed Kapuscinski

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 17875
  • Has a degree in American History & Culture.
  • Respect: +2126
    • Conrail 1285
Re: layout woes
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2007, 05:09:00 PM »
0
Steve, go for the switching layout, but hide some tight curves and give yourself the luxury of continuous running, somehow.

Being the crafty guy you are, you may even be able to fit in some staging.

Trust me, I don't ever want a layout that only does one or the other.

cv_acr

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2346
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +18
    • Canadian Freight Railcar Gallery
Re: layout woes
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2007, 10:37:11 PM »
0
3rdrail:

I like the case that your layout is built into.  :) Fairly good job of putting a layout into a small space, whatever that twit on the A-board says.  ::)

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Re: layout woes
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2007, 10:56:55 PM »
0
Steve, go for the switching layout, but hide some tight curves and give yourself the luxury of continuous running, somehow.

Being the crafty guy you are, you may even be able to fit in some staging.

Trust me, I don't ever want a layout that only does one or the other.

my switching layout is a modification of an HO layout that was submitted for critique to the LDSIG.  here is the final version of the HO layout to give you an idea of what it would look like - notic ethe 2 tracks along the right side - they will be hidden behind a false flat of warehouses and emerge under the road bridge.



in my limited space, i can either have a switching layout or a racetrack with some limited switching.  i prefer switching, but there is something to be said for just letting the trains run.  a 36" layout really limits the size of rolling stock; no 75' or 80' cars - my Pennsy varnish dream just vanished.

-'67
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Re: layout woes
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2007, 11:18:11 PM »
0
to give you an idea of what i am working with, here is what my current layout with some N scale equipment on it to show how much larger the 1'x8' becomes when changing scales.  i really like this track layout, i wish it was part of a larger layout - it's one to remember for the future.



-'67
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?

wm3798

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 13108
  • Gender: Male
  • I like models. She likes antiques. Perfect!
  • Respect: +1337
    • Western Maryland Railway Western Lines
Re: layout woes
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2007, 08:36:08 AM »
0
Steve,
If you're feeling the need to operate some trains, either bumping cars or chasing their tails, then by all means, build something.  You obviously have an itch that needs scratched.
My layout is 36" deep, and I'm holding 15" as my minimum curves, which are hidden under the lift out mountain. 
15" under ground is adequate to run your auto racks and 85' hi cubes without being visually appalling.  I've got one tunnel portal that prevents me from running long cars all over the layout, but in the final plan, that's on the Thomas Sub, which would never see that kind of traffic anyway, so I'm reluctant to tear up the area to "fix" it.
So I limit long stuff to run between the PC interchange and the yard.  Once the rest of the layout is built, they'll be able to run the full circuit on the Connellsville sub.

While I was planning the "big one" I built the infamous Temporary Rig, (God Rest it's Soul)


It was 3' x 8' of recreational modeling, basically a roundy roundy with a siding or two to mess with.  Later I added a staging yard and a wye that made it much more functional.  Like Ed's Kidney, I regarded it as a stepping stone to the next level.  A place where scenery could be experimented with, and operations scenarios could be tried out.  As the layout room renovation was completed, I stepped up construction on the first section of the permanent layout, and started scrapping the temp rig.  When the last drop of paint was put on the trim, I hauled the temp rig out to the garage, and hauled the paper mill section in.



Within a couple weeks, I had some loops installed to get trains running again.

It's fun to work on rolling stock and structures, but there's a certain satisfaction of being able run the trains.  So build something, ANYTHING to scratch that itch.

Lee
Route of the Alpha Jets

Lee Weldon www.wmrywesternlines.net

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Re: layout woes
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2007, 07:57:21 PM »
0
sat down this evening and modified my plan to get me a decent amount of switching without being too limited.  still no loop, but as you can see, adding a fold down staging yard really helps open up the plan.  i want the fold down staging to be as effortless as possible so it does get build and used.  it will be a very simple piece of 3/4" plywood connected to the layout with a piano hinge and held up with a very simple cross braced 1x2" support



-Mr. 1967
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?

Ed Kapuscinski

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 17875
  • Has a degree in American History & Culture.
  • Respect: +2126
    • Conrail 1285
Re: layout woes
« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2007, 08:51:49 PM »
0
Steve, you should REALLY look at what Lee's jerry-rigged to get some around the walls action. It looks REAL temporary, but it works like a charm.

wm3798

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 13108
  • Gender: Male
  • I like models. She likes antiques. Perfect!
  • Respect: +1337
    • Western Maryland Railway Western Lines
Re: layout woes
« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2007, 11:00:49 PM »
0
Thank you for that intro, Ed.  Here's your treat...

/>






Basically some 1x, a couple of bolts with wing nuts, and some glue.  I install the shelf and mount everything together so the surface is tight and level.  I then install the track in a continuous welded rail fashion.  Once I'm satisfied that the alignment vertically and horizontally are right, I glue the track down and ballast it in tight.  Once the electrical connections are in place, (I use speaker plugs) I cut the rail at the lift out joints.

When Andy needs crap out of the closet, I undo a couple of wing nuts, lift out the shelf, and alls well.

Being able to close that loop made the layout 1,000 times more interesting to operate, because it gave me full access to the 8 track staging yard below the paper mill.

Lee
Route of the Alpha Jets

Lee Weldon www.wmrywesternlines.net

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Re: layout woes
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2007, 01:34:21 PM »
0
here is the latest and greatest version.  i've added an interchange and interchange yard - the staging yard is the other railroad - most likely the N&W on the former NKP somewhere near Morgan Run, Ohio....

having a loop is not an option at with this plan.  i am confined to the corner of the family room.  on the left is a door to the laundry room and the sliding glass door to the patio (a high volume area).  this area also needs to allow bulky items in and out the sliding glass door, like my N-Trak module and the baby stroller.



-'67 keepin' real.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2007, 01:38:32 PM by asciibaron »
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?

wm3798

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 13108
  • Gender: Male
  • I like models. She likes antiques. Perfect!
  • Respect: +1337
    • Western Maryland Railway Western Lines
Re: layout woes
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2007, 02:12:34 PM »
0
That's why mine is completely removable with the flick of a couple of wingnuts.  I have to be able to access Andy's closet.

Lee
Route of the Alpha Jets

Lee Weldon www.wmrywesternlines.net

Ed Kapuscinski

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 17875
  • Has a degree in American History & Culture.
  • Respect: +2126
    • Conrail 1285
Re: layout woes
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2007, 03:16:15 PM »
0
Steve
I'm gonna smack you.

Build a few oNeTRAK modules and use them to connect it all.

Geez...

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Re: layout woes
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2007, 06:26:12 PM »
0
Steve
I'm gonna smack you.

Build a few oNeTRAK modules and use them to connect it all.

what is this oNeTrak you speak of...(ducks)

here is where the layout has to fit.  the door on the left goes to the laundry room, the opening on the right goes to the bathroom and my office.  there isn't a ton of room to work in, and my solution seems to be the best compromise.  i'm heading to HD for some lumber...



-'67 fo' sure
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Re: layout woes
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2007, 09:07:42 PM »
0
all the 1x2's and 1x4's needed have been procured, as has the plywood base for the right leg.  i have a 1x8' piece of homasote in the shed that i will use for the sub-roadbed.  i am going to have a coal pier on the one siding that cuts the triangle into the right leg.  this will be made from foam since i want to drop below the grade.

i might be able to start construction this weekend - i have to get the nursery ready and dig through severl more boxes of crap before i'll be able to get going.  it's exciting to have a layout in progress beyond the paper stages.

-'67 with splitters
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?