Author Topic: New member and layout  (Read 2725 times)

MichaelT

• Crew
  • Respect: +1
New member and layout
« on: June 07, 2007, 10:03:43 AM »
Good morning,

Was sent a link to this forum by a friend from another site, so I thought I'd check it out and see what I can learn from you folks here.

I got started late in life in the hobby, currently building a G scale garden railroad in the back yard, and working on an N scale layout in the hobby room.

Here is a loose diagram of the layouts current track plan.

While I'm working on finishing sidings and then working on the main yard and the short yard, I've been running trains daily on the operational mainline.

I've got a few pictures that will take you around the current state of the layout. It's still messy, and I'm still learning.

So yes I still have quite a bit of work ahead of me, and I'm learning new things as I go along. The friend that sent me the link to here, also sent me a link to about 10 youtube videos where a guy works on the foam boards and creates mountains and hills; quite impressive.

I'll be running mostly the Missouri Pacific Railroad, but will take quite a while to change all my engines to Mopac; will also run some Cotton Belt/SP/ and Rock Island trains, the three main railroads that ran through Arkansas in the 40's-60's or thereabouts.

The layout at this time is mostly flat; all the trackwork is flat and level right now. I haven't learned how to build grades just yet.

So there's a decent start. I'll add updates as they happen, and would appreciate tips, suggestions, questions, thoughts, etc. that any of you feel might help me improve the railroad.

Michael

Fotheringill

Re: New member and layout
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2007, 12:10:38 PM »
I would put a reverse loop into the plan for variety of running. It looks like all trains will only go in one direction as you have it laid out.

MichaelT

• Crew
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2007, 12:24:35 PM »