Author Topic: FUD Noob Needs Advice on Rendering Error  (Read 1012 times)

C855B

• Crew
  • Respect: +2293
FUD Noob Needs Advice on Rendering Error
« on: January 25, 2014, 10:51:38 PM »
OK... this is my first time with Shapeways FUD. It came out of the Bestine soak today and now that the process wax is off, it clearly has a problem:

Aside from the brutally obvious fix of sanding or carving off the artifacts, this seems to me to be a processing or rendering error worthy of a re-do. It's certainly not the artwork, as the identical features on the other end are fine. However, I can't remove it without obliterating details. Will Shapeways rerun output for errors like this or am I on my own?

3rdboxcar

• Crew
  • Respect: +17
    • Boxcar models [my shapeweays shop]
Re: FUD Noob Needs Advice on Rendering Error
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2014, 04:47:33 AM »
Hi

What you have got is one of the problems of FUD, where you have a flat surface with objects sticking out lke the headlights and handrails you can get an artefact of support material. This is the worst I have seen though, I have had models printed that have handrails and there has been no support material deposited.

Have you rounded the handrails as I have found this seems to lessen or eliminate the support material for some reason.

C855B

• Crew
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2014, 10:58:15 AM »
Thanks, good to know. What's weird is it only happened on the one end of both shells.

It turned out that this support "fuzz" is soft, much softer than I expected. I could scrub most of it off with a good brushing. There's still enough of a footprint, however, to obscure the details at the bottom. Might need a few minutes of X-Acto time to freshen the panel lines. I was thinking about slicing off the grab-iron ladder, anyway, in favor of individual wire grabs, so this is an opportunity for a little light sanding.

Oh... let me clarify... this is not my artwork. I am in correspondence with the fellow who did it, however.