Author Topic: Question and/or comment about KATO  (Read 4693 times)

carlso

• Crew
  • Respect: +488
Question and/or comment about KATO
« on: April 17, 2020, 09:37:06 PM »

Hang on, this is not a flame job as I am a KATO person. I have just read the thread regarding KATO's soon to be released SD-70M's and it opened some thoughts (smell the sawdust burning?).

Wishing KATO would to this or that and how many opportunities they may be missing. Really, well here is one for pondering. KATO had a huge (I think) hit with their 4-8-4 #844. Am I sort of correct here? They did do another black "freight" version. I am no UP expert but couldn't they do a "greyhound" scheme in either silver or yellow stripes, or in each scheme, and possibly more that I am not aware of.
Looks to me like they missed the boat on sales for the excellent performing steamer.

Just pondering, as if there is not enough to ponder in today's world.
Carl

BTW, couldn't they make an MT-4 out of a GS4 mechanism and shell without too many changes?

Carl Sowell
El Paso, Texas

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +4688
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Question and/or comment about KATO
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2020, 10:23:06 PM »
I'm a Kato-fanboy, and whenever the subject of U.S. prototype model projects comes up, I'm told that Kato is a Japanese company, mainly catering to Japanese modelers (and mostly producing Japanese prototype trains).

U.S. market is secondary. Plus, what they make or not is a whim of Mr. Kato himself.  Yes, they could make a small fortune by producing lots more of U.S. prototype models, but their factory are already very busy pumping out Japanese models (and Mr. Kato has the final say).

I would love to see Kato produce lots more of U.S. prototype N scale models, but does that matter?
. . . 42 . . .

Point353

• Crew
  • Respect: +722
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2020, 02:05:36 AM »