Author Topic: Wiring Atlas Code 55 turnouts using slide switches  (Read 15314 times)

railroadadam

Wiring Atlas Code 55 turnouts using slide switches
« on: January 23, 2012, 02:39:16 PM »
I am a rank newbie trying to get started with Atlas code 55 N scale track and am planning my layout. I don't really understand much about wiring, and don't have a good mentor for this stuff, so I am hoping that someone here can lend a hand with some details and/or photos of how to wire the turnouts in this track.

I think I understand the whole polarity thing and the reason for powering the frog, but I'm not really solid on the actual mechanics of wiring the switches. It's going to be a small layout (and my first since my childhood HO setup), so I don't want to get too complicated. I really liked the technique that Erik W used for wiring a turnout using a slide switch found here:

https://www.therailwire.net/forum/index.php?topic=15405.15

But I am confused on how to implement the wiring of those switches (and the choice SPDT vs DPDT).

Why is he using DPDT switches?

A DPDT switch has 6 terminals. I really need a wiring diagram for wiring the turnout to this switch. What connects to what??

Can someone help fill in the wiring on this diagram

Thanks for any help in advance!

Scottl

• Crew
  • Respect: +1154
Re: Wiring Atlas Code 55 turnouts using slide switches
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2012, 03:47:02 PM »
You can use a SPDT switch too, but the extra set of contacts is good for signals or lights that indicate turnout position.

BTW, I plan to use this approach for my yard. I'm hoping to mount NZT switch machines on the knob of the switch to hide it and attach the switch to the turnout with a wire with a spring bend in it.  The key will be to keep the glue from the ballast out of the switch...  I'm thinking to fill it with non-conductive oil...
« Last Edit: January 23, 2012, 04:17:28 PM by Scottl »

wcfn100

• Crew
  • Respect: +1133
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler